Do I have to pay taxes on mileage reimbursement?

Do I have to pay taxes on mileage reimbursement?

Hello,I work for a non-profit as a direct service provider to individuals with developmental disorders. As a requirement of my job, I use my personal vehicle to drive the individuals around to appointments, activities, etc. I report my mileage biweekly, and am reimbursed .43 per mile for my miles driven when an individual is accompanying me. I do not pay taxes on this amount and it is not recorded on my W2.AS is my understanding, since the amount is below the federal rate (which I believe is .55/mile) I do not have to claim this as additional income or pay taxes on it. Is this correct? Also, since I am paid a lower mileage rate than is the federal guideline, am I able to claim the difference as a deduction on my taxes?Furthermore, I am also required to have a certain level of auto insurance on the vehicle I use for work, by my job. Am I able to claim that as a deduction? If so, how would I determine what I could deduct?Thank you in advance for your help!

tro

of course notin fact the 8 cents you are not reimbursed is a charitable donation you can claim on Sch Ano on the insurance under any circumstances, the mileage rate includes cost of insurance

milton

The mileage reimbursement isn't income it is reimbursement for a legitimate business expense. I'm not sure how the insurance is deductible, you should ask the IRS about that.

fustercluck

No. It is not income

Judy

You can show the additional mileage amount on form 2106, but it will only do anything for you if you itemize, and then only the amount that's over 2% of your AGI - so chances are, won't matter. No you can't deduct the insurance.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Does the state of Maryland compensate for damages caused by a deer accident?
It depends if the road is governed by the state or local authorities. In most cases you have to report it immediately to the police so they can write up an accident report. If it's a state road, you should be able to appeal to the state. If it's a local road, the city or town might offer...

What is an average auto insurance cost for a sedan in Alberta?
The only way you're going to get an accurate estimate will be to contact a local insurance agent for a quote.

What are the exact requirements in the state of California on Auto Liability Insurance?
The answer "shjf47" gave you is the correct minimum automobile insurance requirements in the State of California. Consider, however, that even a modest accident will eat up all of this liability coverage, and could place any assets you have in jeopardy. To be even remotely safe you should...

What do YOU do when insurance companies screw you over?
There is not much you can do. Every company (including State Farm) will do a short rate "penalty" if you cancel mid term. The rep is probably right that she doesn't know exactly how it is figured since everything is done with a computer these days. It's also not just in NC but every state.The...

How much auto insurance do you really need?
Depends on your assets, future assets and what state you are in. In California and Utah, the courts are now allowed to award the following: everything but $20,000 in equity in your home, savings and any other liquid assets, AND up to 1/3 of your wages for up to 10 YEARS. You should discuss...