I just purchase a car out of state and moved to Texas, what all do I need to do to register the car?

I just purchase a car out of state and moved to Texas, what all do I need to do to register the car?

I just purchased a vehicle (cash) in Baton Rouge, LA and moved to Dallas, TX two days later, so I still have my temp. paper plate on the car. The dealership just mailed me the title to the new car but I'-m not sure what needs to be done in order to get my registration. Do I need to get my TX license first, or can I get my tag first or does it even matter? I'-d like feedback from individuals who live in texas and know what they'-re talking about. Thanks!

msumilk

First, think about your car. By state law, you must get a Texas driver’s license within 30 days of moving to Texas. But there are a few things you will need to do first.The first step is to get your in for a state inspection. Learn more about Texas vehicle inspections and inspection locations . After your car passes the state inspection, you will be given a verification form.OK, now what? You will need to take your inspection verification form, your proof of liability insurance and your proof of ownership to your county’s tax assessor’s office. These are needed so that you can get your registered and get those great Texas license plates.Once you have your car registered, you can apply for a Texas driver’s license. For this you will need to have an ID, proof of Social Security number, proof of Texas vehicle registration and proof of liability insurance. When applying for a Texas driver’s license, expect to surrender your existing state driver’s license and also to provide your thumbprint. Search for a Texas driver’s license office in your county. While you are at the driver’s license office, you can also register to vote.Another thing regarding your car that you need to understand is Texas’ requirement for you to carry liability insurance. Called 20/40/15, Texas law requires minimum coverage of $20,000 per injured person, up to $40,000 for everyone who is injured in an accident and $15,000 for personal property damage. Is this enough? Before moving to Texas, it is a good idea to contact your insurance agent. If you need a referral to a good Austin area insurance agent, please give me a call. Learn more about Texas auto insurance requirements .Voting In TexasSource(s):http://www.austinrealestateguy.com/Movin…

big

come on man, its the same everywhere you have to register your car within 30 days of moving just go to secretary of state or dept of motor vehicles they will take care of it. or even eaiser YOU COULD CALL THEM DID YOU BRING YOUR PHONE WITH YOU?

minus

Be sure you have plenty of money in the bank. You will most likely pay the Texas state taxes such as sales and excize tax. If you paid sales tax in the state you bought the car then you will have to apply for a refund. You probably will not get it though.Not difficult just go to the DMV and take all the papers eith ou and they will be glad to get your money.

Daigsmommy

You will register your vehicle in Texas the same way you would register any vehicle...I just know that you have to have your vehicle registered in the state before you can apply for a drivers license.

oklatom

Vehicle Requirements for New ResidentsIf you are a new resident and own a motor vehicle, you are required by state law to get a Texas vehicle inspection, vehicle title/registration and driver license. You must follow follow these steps within 30 days of moving to Texas to operate your vehicle legally.Step 1: Get a Vehicle InspectionStep 2: Apply for Texas Vehicle Title/RegistrationStep 3: Apply for a Texas Driver LicenseAs an aside, if it's used, I hope you checked it carefully before buying. There are a LOT of flood damaged cars for sale there.Source(s):http://www.dot.state.tx.us/services/vehi…

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

I planning to run a home daycare. How do I find Insurance for child accident and liability?
Your friendly neighbourhood insurance broker, the same person who writes your auto, home, and travel insurance, can help you with this. Depending on the number of children you will have, and the company you are insured with, it may be a home business rider on your home policy. If you have...

Is the auto-insurance claim information shared if I switch the insurance company?
Most of the time, yes they will find those prior claims.Many insurance companies participate in a national database that tracks claims. They will also check you MVR records of any tickets or accidents. It is very difficult to slip one past an insurance company.Fraudulently stating fewer claims...

Why do auto insurance company need your date of birth and a Credit check before getting insurance?
Some places do not check your credit. Here's the reasons they ask for and require the info depending on the company. Date of birth will classify the applicant in age groups that "show" how typical driver's in that age range drive, how many accidents they have reported, as well as other driving...

What information should I gather when involved in an auto accident with an uninsured motorist?
In the case of an accident where there is damage to a vehicle you always call the police to come out and do a police report. The first thing your insurance agent or company is going to ask for is a police report. It has all the dynamics of the accident - this is a legal document that can be...

List a lot of organizations other than sports please?
3M CompanySt. Paul, MNAbbott LaboratoriesAbbott Park, ILADMDecatur, ILAdvance Auto Parts, Inc.Roanoke, VAAdvanced Micro Devices, Inc.Sunnyvale, CAAetna Inc.Hartford, CTAffiliated Computer Services, Inc.Dallas, TXAflac IncorporatedColumbus, GAAGCO CorporationDuluth, GAAgilent Technologies, Inc...