If I am injured in an accident, how long do I have to report the injury in Georgia?

If I am injured in an accident, how long do I have to report the injury in Georgia?

In relation to my previous question, I was informed by the insurance company of the at-fault vehicle in my car accident that they may not be liable to pay my medical expenses in an accident, thus I was afraid to visit the doctor, as I have no health insurance.How long do I have to file an injury claim?

JasonR

The statute of limitations for filing a third party property damage claim in Georgia is four years. I don't know if that also applies to bodily injury claims. BUT you need to take action IMMEDIATELY if you think you are injured in any way!!!You state that the other party was at-fault in the accident. Is there a police report? If so, does it indicate who was at-fault and/or if any citations were issued? Did the other driver's insurer pay to repair your vehicle?How long ago did the accident occur?Have you contacted YOUR auto insurance company to report the accident? If you haven't called your insurer, I would do so immediately! Your policy most likely has a requirement that you do so within 30 or 60 days and they may not be liable or under any obligation to help you if you fail to do so.By reporting it to your insurer, you're accomplishing several things-1) they may step in and deal with other insurance company on your behalf2) they should at least offer some guidance on how you should proceed3) if you have Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage on your policy, you may end up filing your bodily injury claim against your policy- your insurer would then pursue reimbursement from the other party- BUT failing to report a potential claim within a specified period could remove this option from the table (if you have to begin with).4) you wouldn't want the at-fault driver to call up your insurance company claiming it was your fault BEFORE you let them know about it....they hate that!If you don't get any help from your insurance company, call a Personal Injury Attorney in the area and see if they can offer any help or take your case on a contingency, with no retainer up front....You also can complain to the Insurance Commissioner's Office about the company wrongly denying to pay for your medical bills. That usually gets some results!Good luck with this!

Entidtil

I wouldn't be concerned about how long you have to file an injury claim. If you were injured, file a claim NOW!Have you reported this accident to your own insurance company as you should have? If you did, they can give you advice.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Could I buy an auto insurance without a car?
you can get a insurance policy from some insurance companies. it is a non owner insurance policy. it should cover you in any vehicle that is borrowed or rented. the insurance company we have told us we could do this but it cost more than having a car on the policy. you should call an insurance...

Auto Insurance question!!1st car, Mitsubishi eclipse?
Today is your lucky day! lol. My first car was a 1995 Eclipse GS. Bought when I turned 17.(Im 19 now) I had it totally paid off. My insurance fluxuated between $275-300. Full Coverage. I had statefarm and I live in FL. As long as you dont have any major highways or major cities around you,...

What does the average American spend on health bills from smoking?
Not very much. The only actual medical bill that you could get from smoking is if you burnt yourself, and normally you just put some salve on it at home, so there are no medical bills to speak of.You are obviously basing your question on the false assumption that smoking causes cancer. This...

Auto Insurance: Will insurance cover a stolen car with a salvaged title?
If your salvage car is stolen or totaled again your insurer will likely only pay about 60% of the actual cash value of a comparable, clean titled car so keep that in mind.I own a salvage car right now and only have liability and comprehensive on it, since I won't be paid that much if it is...

Why do auto insurance company need your date of birth and a Credit check before getting insurance?
Some places do not check your credit. Here's the reasons they ask for and require the info depending on the company. Date of birth will classify the applicant in age groups that "show" how typical driver's in that age range drive, how many accidents they have reported, as well as other driving...