Do I have to list all additional drivers for auto insurance in Ontario?

Do I have to list all additional drivers for auto insurance in Ontario?

I am shopping for auto insurance and noticed that if I include my wife and son in the quote, the insurance jumps from $1600 a year to $3100. That'-s almost double and none of them have any accidents or anything. If I don'-t include them as secondary drivers, can they still drive the vehicle and be insured? And if not, does that mean that every family in Ontario must list all family members that MIGHT drive the vehicle? Answers are MUCH appreciated.

sensibleman

I don't believe insurance is much different there than in the States. Here, all drivers or potential drivers (immediate family) must be listed. If they are not listed, they are not covered. Some companies are selling policies to cover anyone who drives the car. I am not familiar with the restrictions though.

Tina

If you don't include them, they CANNOT drive the vehicle. If they have an accident while driving the vehicle your insuance company can refuse to pay and you would be personally liable for any damages. Plus, your insurance carrier may choose not to renew your policy.In Ontario, you must list all family members, living under the same roof, that may drive the vehicle. Only way around this is to ensure a family member not listed on the policy DOES NOT HAVE ACCESS to the keys for said vehicle.

jaz

yes you have to list them, because if you don't list all licensed drivers living in the household, and you have an accident, the insurer can deny the claim based on non-disclosure of information. If you don't wish your rates to go up, you could always have an excluded driver endorsement, but this is not really recommended because what if they absolutely need to drive the vehicle in an emergency...there would be no coverage.If your wife and son have their own automobiles insured elsewhere, or say your son is listed on your wife's policy, your company would likely not charge for him on your policy. They will just require proof that they are insured elsewhere.Or, if that's not the case, how about listing both, but having your son pay for his share of the premium? If he's listed on your policy, it will be to his benefit in the future, because he'll maintain a continuous insurance record, which will save him tons when he decides to buy his own Mustang.Source(s):insurance adjuster/former broker.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Was convicted of a dui and now have a motorcycle do i need insurance?
An SR-22 isn't a type of insurance coverage, but rather proof that you have insurance.It is notification from your insurance company to the DMV that you have auto liability insurance in effect in the State of California which satisfies the minimum insurance coverage required by the State.This...

Which auto insurance company would have lowest price for under 25 teenagers?
Good question but unfortunately insurance rates aren't just based on age. There are a lot of factors that come into play when determining a rate. The only way to know for sure is to do some research. I would suggest requesting quotes on line. There's a site called Insuranceeasy.org where you...

Does uninsured driver insurance cover a hit and run in California?
i live in the state of indiana- even if your have uninsured motorist on your policy, unless you can ID the responsible party, you cannot file an uninsured property damage claim on your auto- this is by statute-its a catch 22- if you cant ID, you dont have a claim- the point is, you cant...

How to become a Auto Insurance agent in Texas?
You go to the texas insurance department website, to get the information you need to take the test and buy the study materials.THEN, you have to call around to auto insurance companies, and convince them to let you sell their insurance policies. With no track record or experience, not having...

Is there a cheap auto insurance i can get while i have my learners permit?
It is not clear if you are an adult living on your own (just getting a license) or a teenager living at home. A more specific answer would depend on this fact.The car that the permitted driver practices in (with a licensed adult) must be insured in any case. If you are taking a driver education...